ASPIRE Professor Wins SIAG/Supercomputing Best Paper Prize


Congratulations to  Professors James Demmel, Laura Grigori, Mark Hoemmen, and Julien Langou on being selected to receive the 2016 SIAG/Supercomputing Best Paper Prize for their paper, “Communication-Optimal Parallel and Sequential QR and LU Factorizations,” published in SIAM Journal on Scientific Computing 2012.

The SIAG/Supercomputing Best Paper Prize will be awarded for the first time at the SIAM Conference on Parallel Processing for Scientific Computing (SC16), to be held April 12-15, 2016, at UniversitéPierre et Marie Curie, Cordeliers Campus, Paris, France.

The SIAG/SC Best Paper Prize, established in 2015, is awarded to the authors of the most outstanding paper, as determined by the prize committee, in the field of parallel scientific and engineering computing. Candidate papers must be nominated by at least two individuals and must have been published in English in a peer-reviewed journal bearing a publication date within the four calendar years prior to the year of the award and making significant contributions in parallel scientific and engineering computing.

Click Here to see the paper